‘Crimson Peak’ Entertaining and gruesome

on

This weekend I had the chance to check out the new film by Guillermo Del Torro. Emily and I have been really looking forward to this film for some time now ever since the first trailer came out. However as time passed and the release came closer I was still confused on what exactly the movie would be about. (Which in my case is a good thing because I enjoy being surprised) In this case it was a good thing. The film contained a lot more twists and gruesome events than I had anticipated. I expected a good ghost story about ghosts haunting the family that lived in the mansion on Crimson Peak but there was definitely a lot more depth to this film. The film starts off with a quite long back story, which I found refreshing because I feel that’s what a lot of scary movies have been missing lately. It set up the rest of the film nicely by explaining the past of the main character and explaining what led her to her current situation on Crimson Peak, while emotionally attaching you to the characters. The scenes with ghosts throughout the movie were a little cheesy for my taste however I feel they did their job in creating a creepy atmosphere in the house on Crimson Peak.  I just think they made the ghosts look a little too human for how ghosts are usually portrayed in most movies and stories. However the story of the characters in this film took over and gave the film a very realistic feel to it. The last half of the film is very intense and will leave you on the edge of your seat.At least I was very into it. The one thing I was not expecting was how gruesome a few of the scenes were. There were more than a few times I had to turn my head a little bit in pure disgust at how graphic some of the scenes were. However I felt this added to the realism of film and was definitely a plus to its story. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed the movie and would recommend a watch whether you are a horror fan or not.

8/10 *Stars*

Leave a comment